Southern squash casserole

  

It’s squash season here and we’ve got five or six summer squash/zucchini plants producing plus a spaghetti squash plant. Warning: those winter squash plants will run everywhere!

We’re lucky that our plants have been fruitful and that I’ve discovered this awesome comforting and delicious casserole. I’m including the original recipe of Ellen Nash’s from my hometown’s 1996 4H cookbook. My adaptations are in parentheses.

3 cups fresh, canned or frozen squash  (I use three fresh quash or zucchini of small to medium size)

2 eggs

1 tbsp butter, melted

2 cups round buttery crackers ,crushed ( I have subbed savory herb stuffing mix and it’s been great)

1 med sweet onion

2 cups cheese, grated  (I use sharp)

1 tbsp milk

1 can cream of chicken soup (I sub organic cream of mushroom)

I have also on occasion added green chiles or mushrooms. Use this as a guide and create your own version! 

Cook squash until tender. Drain if necessary and mix everything together. It should just fill an 8×8 dish. Bake uncovered 30-40 min or until brown. Let sit five minutes. 

Leave a Reply

