Black Bean Spaghetti Squash Enchilada Bowls

That’s right; I still know how to use this thing. Does anyone else just fall off the planet once in a while when it comes to blogging? Am I the only one? It’s hard to remember to take pictures of food, remember what you did to create it, and actually post it online. Right now it’s even more difficult because it’s harvest season here…my kitchen is filled with things from my own garden: tomatoes, chile peppers, spaghetti squash, yellow squash, zucchini and cucumbers. It’s also filled with local fresh Palisade Peaches, Olathe Sweet Corn, and Hatch Green Chiles to roast. SO you it’s busy around here.

Still, because I love you, I found time to post this pic and brief recipe of our recent vegetarian spaghetti squash enchilada bowls. Spaghetti squash makes a great vessel for things, and this particular variety is bred to be smaller, so 1/2 is perfect for 1 person.

Black Bean Enchilada Spaghetti Squash bowls

Black Bean Enchilada Spaghetti Squash bowls

Here’s what we did:

I cut the spaghetti squash in half, cleaned it out, and rubbed each side with a little olive oil. I sprinkled in salt and pepper, smoked paprika and a dash of chili powder.  Then I roasted them on a sheet pan, cut side down, for 30 minutes at 400, until they were soft.

In the mean time, I chopped and sautéed:

1 onion

1 small zucchini

1/2 red bell pepper or 1 green chile

Use whatever you want for this part. I think we had mushrooms in ours too.

Once those items were soft, I mixed in black beans that had been cooking in the slow cooker (or use 1 can of black beans). I added about 1 tbsp chili powder, 1/2 tbsp cumin, and a dash of smoked paprika.  All of this is to taste.

Once the spaghetti squash are ready, flip them over and fill each half with the enchilada/burrito filling. Top with shredded cheese and heat under the broiler until the cheese bubbles. Add salsa, cilantro, or any other condiments you wish and dig in! Just start poking around the edges of the squash for it to start flaking away like strands of spaghetti. It’s delish!

Leave a Reply

