What I’ve been baking lately

In an effort to control some mild but annoying and chronic gastro issues, I’m avoiding wheat for a while.  I do not have Celiac’s disease (ok, that I know of) and am not definitively following the Wheat Belly diet or anything; I mostly just gave up gluten. Oats? Still eating those. Corn products? Absolutely.  Rice? Sure. I’m also trying not to just buy a bunch of gluten-free products because well, before I wasn’t buying a lot of processed foods anyway, so why would I change that?

I did buy a Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free flour mix the other day.  That’s about as far as I’ve gone.  I used it to make these:

Cheesy crackers from 100DaysofRealFood.com

Cheesy crackers from 100DaysofRealFood.com

The first time I made the cheesy crackers from 100 Days of Real Food, my BF described them as “discipline cookies.” While there are only 3 ingredients: cheese, flour and butter, the full 1 cup of whole-wheat flour was a little overpowering. To be honest, it gave the crackers sort of a cardboard taste. This time around I made them using the gluten free flour mix and some xantham gum and they were AWESOME. I also used 1/2 cheddar and 1/2 parmesan cheese in the crackers. For the full recipe, click here.

Now, while the BF is not giving up his wheat, he’s cutting back on it because I’m the one who bakes cookies around here and I’m not going to make cookies I can’t eat!

I tried two different recipes this past week, one for flourless peanut butter cookies from King Arthur Flour’s website, and one for gluten-free oatmeal cookies by Martha Stewart.  (Of course, if you have a wheat allergy or Celiac’s you should make absolutely sure to look for gluten free oats for that one).

The PB cookies were great, but a little fragile.  I saw one comment that said to add 1/3 cup oatmeal, and I think next time I’d do that, just to have something as a binder. The taste was awesome though.

Here’s a pic of the oatmeal cookies.  The BF’s response to the first one was, “There’s no way these are gluten free.” Well, they are and they don’t use any gluten-free flour mixes either!

Martha Stewart's gluten free oatmeal cookies

Martha Stewart’s gluten free oatmeal cookies

Again, these are a little more fragile than regular cookies, but they are SO tasty!

We also made a new recipe from Cooking Light that will be making its way into the regular rotation: Broccoli quinoa casserole with chicken and cheese. 

Just sub some gluten-free flour mix for the flour used in the white sauce.  It turned out great!

Leave a Reply

