Presto Pizzazz Pizza Oven Review (and some recipes too)

For my birthday my sister sent me a Presto Pizzazz Pizza Oven. When I first opened the box I was a little surprised…it seemed kind of cheesy and looked like it was mostly used for cooking frozen things like frozen pizza and taquitos.  BUT boy did I learn a lesson…that whole “never judge a book…” thing is true.  The Pizzazz Pizza Oven is actually pretty darn handy!

I came back to work after opening the present (but not the box it was in) and did some online research.  Almost all of the reviews on Amazon were positive.  People liked not having to heat up the oven in the summer, pizza crust was crunchy, etc.  Since we already had pizza on the menu for that evening, I decided to go home, unpack the pizza oven and try it out.

Presto Pizzazz Pizza Oven

Presto Pizzazz Pizza Oven

 

So here is the pizza oven all set up.  It’s really not that big.  The tray is like 13.5 inches in diameter – perfect for a 12″ pizza! The tray is also removable, which makes storage much easier.  This is such a simple appliance to use!   You can choose to use the lower heating element, dual heating, or the upper element and you can change it with just the flip of a switch.  Super handy for pizza.

So I set to work getting all my toppings, sauce, etc ready (sauce recipe below) and then set the tray on the counter.  I added the dough (usually I pre-cook the dough, and I probably will next time on the pizza oven), sauce and toppings.  I set the tray back on the oven and set the heat to the lower element only.  I plugged it in and set the timer for 8 minutes (I was guesstimating).

Pizza cooking on my Presto Pizzazz pizza oven

Pizza cooking on my Presto Pizzazz pizza oven

 

Here’s the pizza cooking away on the pizza oven.  I alternated between dual and low element heat only and I’d say the pizza took about 20 minutes total. Usually I pre-cook the crust for 8-10 and then cook it for 10-12 more in the oven…but this is all after the oven has been on for 20 minutes preheating.  There’s no need to preheat with this!

Though I was originally obsessed with watching the oven rotate, I finally went to the living room and left it alone.  I figured the chances of something burning were much less with this than the actual oven.  When the timer went off again this is what I found:

Finished pizza in the pizzazz pizza oven

Finished pizza in the pizzazz pizza oven

 

The top crust was soft and chewy, the cheesy was browned and bubbly, and when I cut into it you could HEAR the crunch from the bottom crust! Note: Don’t cut on the tray itself.  I slid it off here and onto a regular oven tray.  The nonstick coating is no joke! I had no problem moving it around.

I was so intrigued by this little device that, after dinner, I decided to make a dessert on it.  I had 1 pie crust leftover from the holidays (Yeah we don’t eat much pie…) so I thawed it, unrolled it and cut circles of dough out with a glass.  I then…

Mixed about 1 – 1 1/2 cups of blueberries with 2 tsps sugar and 2 tsps flour

Added 1 tbsp or so of berries to half of the dough circles

Added the tiniest dollop of butter to each

Topped each dough circle with another (which had water around the edges for sealing) and pressed the edges together with a fork.  I then put these on the tray, making sure not to put one in the middle (It said not to with things like cinnamon rolls, so I figured the same rule applied).

Here they are cooking:

Mini blueberry pies cooking on the Pizzazz Pizza Oven

Mini blueberry pies cooking on the Pizzazz Pizza Oven

 

You can see bubbles already forming on the tops as they rotate around and cook.  These didn’t take more than 10 minutes.  I bet you could do cookies the same way if you just wanted a small batch.

Tomorrow I’m using the oven for quesadillas.  I should be able to get 3, made from 8″ flour tortillas, on here at a time I think (folded in half).  No flipping required!

Does anyone really “need” this product?  Probably not.  But in the summers when it’s hot and the kids want a quick Amy’s frozen pizza for lunch or just a few cookies from dough you froze?  This is a MUCH easier way to get that done than heating up the entire oven.

Thanks to my sis for a great gift!

 

OH, the pizza sauce:  (This makes enough for 2 or maybe even 3 pizzas)

1 14 oz can of plain tomato sauce

1 – 2 large cloves of garlic

2 tbsp olive oil

Italian seasoning

fresh basil (optional)

Heat the oil in a sauce pan over medium heat.  Mince the garlic and add it to the warm oil.  Let the garlic sizzle a bit and start to smell.  When it does, add in the tomato sauce.  Whisk for a few minutes to incorporate the oil, then put the lid on.  **For a lower acid version, when it starts to bubble, add 1/8 tsp of baking soda and stir.

Let the sauce simmer just briefly – 5 minutes or so, then add 1 tbsp of Italian seasoning and a pinch of salt to taste (start with 1/8 tsp and work up to your desired taste).  Set aside until you’re ready to use it.  SO much better than processed store sauce!

2 responses to “Presto Pizzazz Pizza Oven Review (and some recipes too)

  1. This thing is cool! I’ve looked at them a couple of times, but never made the jump. So when it’s stored, you can just put the tray vertically beside the top part, or what?

Leave a Reply

