Because sometimes you need a breakfast taco

I had stir-fry on the menu for last night. BUT…things just didn’t go as planned. I got home later than I meant to, spent quite a bit of time in the yard mulching, etc and just wasn’t in the mood to fiddle with stir-fry. What I wanted was Mexican food. It was also vegetarian night at our house, so I had to devise vegetarian Mexican food; this is not a difficult task.

In the end I scrambled some eggs with mushrooms and garlic scapes, cooked some vegetarian refried beans and toasted some tortillas. Vegetarian breakfast tacos it is!

Breakfast tacos with refried beans, scrambled eggs and mushrooms

Breakfast tacos with refried beans, scrambled eggs and mushrooms

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We did have a particularly delicious side dish: spicy roasted broccoli.  I think I took this one from a Rachel Ray cookbook sometime in the past…

Preheat the oven to 450 with your roasting pan in it.

I cut 1 bunch of broccoli into what I call bundles…not individual pieces, but rather flat groups of about 3 pieces each…but whatever works for you is fine.  In a bowl I mixed probably 1 tbsp chili powder, 1 tsp salt and some pepper.  I added all the broccoli and 2-3 tbsp olive oil.

I mixed all this together (it’ll seem thick) and dumped it unceremoniously on the roasting pan.  I checked mine after 12 minutes and let it go a few minutes more.  Make sure the stalks are tender enough to bite easily.

This was a HUGE success at our house. Easy dinner, easy cleanup and an easy way to have a great vegetarian night.

 

Leave a Reply

