Oh-My-God-I’m-Starving giant salad

I guess really “salad” and “starving” don’t go together. Tonight though, they do! Have you ever had those weeks where you could not get full? My sister and I jokingly say our tapeworm has returned when this happens. I’ve been having one of those weeks.

Today was a super active day with a bike ride to and from work and about 3.5 miles of walking during lunch. I had 2 protein rich snacks, a good breakfast and Lunch and still felt hungry. Our original dinner plan tonight was mushroom pizza but I forgot to get out the dough. I got home and started thinking while watering the garden…I’d had meat at lunch and last night so I wanted to stick to a veg meal. But what to make?

20140604-190614.jpg

I came up with this salad and a large pan of cornbread. It was great and I actually got full!

For our salad I used:

2 small potatoes cubed and sautéed with olive oil and salt
1/4 onion and 1 clove garlic sautéed
4 large mushrooms chopped and sautéed
Enough lettuce or mixed greens to mostly fill a large salad bowl
Salad toppings like cucumber, grape tomatoes, corn, sugar snap peas, and carrots.
Mozzarella cheese, cubed
2 Boca chicken patties browned and thawed in a skillet.

I layered all the raw ingredients and then added the cooked stuff on top. I let all cooked items cool a bit beforehand.

The potatoes acted like croutons and even if I go back for seconds, I still don’t have to feel like I’ve destroyed all my activities for the day! The Boca patties added plenty of protein too.

One response to “Oh-My-God-I’m-Starving giant salad

Leave a Reply

