Quick and easy Asian sesame noodles

Pasta. Tonight had to be pasta in some form. I had asparagus to use, kale to use and a random grilled chicken thigh to use up. Then I remembered a recipe I saw in my brand new issue of cooking light: sweet sesame noodles with chicken and broccoli. http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/sweet-sesame-noodles-chicken-50400000135392/

Using their sauce recipe, I created sweet sesame penne pasta with chicken and asparagus. Really it was quite simple.

20140509-194831.jpg
First I started water for the pasta. While I waited for that to boil I chopped and sautéed onion and kale. I cut the kale into small strips ( using the roll up the leaf and chop method) and started it with the onion to soften it up as much as possible.

Once the kale was soft but still bright green I added the asparagus and three small pinches of Chinese Five Spice powder. I love this stuff! As soon as the asparagus was tender I removed the pan from the heat.

in the meantime the pasta water boiled. I used a box of whole wheat penne. I knew I wouldn’t need it all, but the rest will be great for a recipe later this week. So while the pasta cooked, I made a simple apple, feta and spinach salad and the sauce for the pasta. For that I used the exact sauce recipe from the cooking light recipe except that I used Thai peanut sauce instead of peanut butter.

For the salad just wash baby spinach and add it to a salad bowl. Chop half an apple and add that and about 1/4 cup feta. You can serve this with a simple balsamic dressing or this honey mustard vinaigrette:

3 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp Dijon mustard
1/2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
About 1/2 tbsp honey
Salt and pepper
Whisk everything together and then add more honey or salt as needed.

20140509-195405.jpg

Leave a Reply

