My new lunch “side”

I often ride my bike to work and pack a lunch.  The “main” course for lunch is usually leftovers of some variety or, if it has to be, a sandwich.  I’m always looking for a new way to pack more veggies into my day, though, so a side dish is NEVER chips.  It’s always some sort of salad, fruit, etc.

At the grocery store this past week I bought a 2lb bag of carrots.  Why not?  Carrots are cheap, great in salads, even better roasted and drizzled with honey…why NOT buy lots of them?  So, they’ve started showing up as my lunch “side” dish.  I say it that way because this little salad I’ve been making with them could be a main dish any day!

carrots

Serves 1:

1 carrot, peeled and chopped into large rounds (you don’t want it too thin or the carrots will almost pickle).

2 tbsp – 1/4 cup of Feta Cheese (feta is a great addition because it provides protein and calcium)

2 tbsp balsamic vinaigrette.  Use whatever brand you like, or make your own.

I like to make this the night before and let it set overnight.  The carrot soften just a tad.  It’s a great mix of sweet and tangy flavors with great crunchy and soft textures from the carrot and cheese.  This is a very simple side dish that really could be adjusted for whatever you have…green beans, snow peas, cucumber, tomato…use it all summer long!

 

Leave a Reply

