Peach Balsamic Glazed Sweet Potato Hash

I was in charge of sides tonight and I had several bits of things I needed to use up:

1 sweet potato, 1 crown of broccoli, and about 2 cups of mushrooms.  So I cut the broccoli into spears, tossed it in salt and olive oil and threw it in the oven to roast (Ok, I did put it on a cookie sheet).  The mushrooms I quartered and began sauteeing with butter.  Later I added worcestershire sauce.  But what to do with the one lonely sweet potato?

Hash!  Ta-da! 

Image

First I diced the potato and put it and 2 diced cloves of garlic into a hot pan with olive oil (medium heat)

Image

I added about 1/2 cup of chopped red onion and just continued to cook everything, stirring occasionally, until the potatoes were soft and began to caramelize.  Maybe 15 minutes?  20?  Towards the end I added 2-3 tablespoons of peach white balsamic vinegar (a housewarming gift).  It bubbled happily and gave everything a beautiful glaze and sweet taste!  Make sure to season with salt, pepper and a sprinkle of cinnamon.

 

Leave a Reply

