Oh my God Good Maple Roasted Carrots

We biked a long long 14 miles today and totally deserved a hearty meal for our efforts.  Tonight’s hit the spot.  The main dish was the remainder of a crock-pot beef stroganoff I’d made yesterday.  It was a friend’s recipe and, to be honest, it lacked flavor.  Tonight I poured 1/4 cup of red wine and 2 tbsp of worcestershire sauce into a large pot and cooked it for 2 minutes, then added in the leftover stroganoff (noodles and all) and 1 tsp of McCormick Grill Seasoning.  Totally gave that stroganoff the pizazz it needed!  It was awesome!

But I digress…to go with that stroganoff and some multi-grain bread I decided to roast some carrots.  I don’t often roast carrots and I’m not sure why that is…but that all will change now.  These carrots will be a staple, especially in winter.

I peeled 3 large carrots and sliced them into 1/4-1/2 inch thick rounds.  While I was doing this the oven was preheating to 425.
Next, I spread the carrots out on some foil on a pan and added 1 tbsp olive oil, 1/2 tsp thyme, some salt and pepper and mixed everything up well so that the carrots were coated with goodness.

These roasted for 15 minutes.  Then I stirred the carrots and drizzled on 1 tbsp real maple syrup.  I stirred the carrots one more time and roasted them 5 minutes more.  I then finished them with a sprinkle of salt.  These were so amazingly good.  I could have used even 1/2 a tablespoon of maple syrup and it probably would have been plenty.

 

Eat your carrots!!!

Leave a Reply

