“Moroccan” Chicken and Butternut Squash Stew

My menu this week had for Wednesday:  pan roasted chicken, salad, spaghetti squash? butternut squash?  This morning I decided to see what else was out there, so I typed this into Google:  “chicken and butternut squash.”  What I found was a trove of recipes for a Moroccan chicken stew.  I’m so glad I tried it!  It was super easy and turned out great.  As usual I didn’t exactly follow a recipe.  If you need one, this is the one I started with.  I put Moroccan in quotes because I modified it so much that I’m not sure how Moroccan it really is!

http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/moroccan-chicken-butternut-squash-soup-50400000118582/
While looking around though, I saw that Martha Stewart actually roasted the chicken and squash first.  I thought that sounded like a brilliant idea because it would allow me time to work out while part of dinner was cooking.  So, I thawed out 2 chicken breasts and cubed them.  I put those into my small dutch oven and then chopped half an onion and the last half of a butternut squash.  The oven was preheating to 425.
I mixed together about 1/3 cup olive oil, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp cardamom, 1/4 tsp cumin and a pinch of tumeric, salt and pepper.  I added this to the dutch oven and mixed everything together.  I roasted everything for 20 minutes, stirred and then roasted for 10 more.

I moved the dutch oven to the stove top and added 1 cup of chicken broth to deglaze the pan.  Then I added some summer tomatoes that I had frozen – probably 2 cups worth?  Add as much chicken broth and tomatoes as you want.  Then I brought everything to a boil, turned the heat down and let it simmer for 20 minutes.  I tasted frequently to make sure I had the right amount of salt.

Finally I cooked up some cous cous and served the dish with a scoop of cous cous in the bottom of the bowl and the stew on top.  It was great!  What a great new recipe for Butternut Squash!

It’s especially good with a Sierra Nevada Pale Ale 😉

Leave a Reply

