I ran out of rice!

Ok, that’s not exactly true…anyone who has ever browsed this blog probably has seen a post about risotto.  It’s one of my favorite dishes to make; I love its versatility.  Still, in the heat of summer I don’t often make it.  Imagine my surprise tonight when I reached for the Arborio rice and discovered…there was none!

Image

Sorry for the bad picture, I always forget until I’m halfway done… So what did I do?  I reached for the Calrose Sushi rice instead.  It’s a medium grain and is starchy, so I figured it would work.  The only change I had to make was to put the lid on it for a bit while it was cooking.   Still, it worked out great and in 25 minutes I had garlicky shrimp and mushroom risotto with a side of roasted brussels sprouts.

Never fear if you run out of something!  There’s almost always a substitution around.

2 responses to “I ran out of rice!

  1. Right? It’s still a little early in the season, but I couldn’t help myself. I have a rule of shopping for at least 1 vegetable that isn’t a salad veggie, corn or potatoes, each week. I try to find ones that are like $1.50/lb or less…this week Brussels sprouts were $.149. Yay! Last week was organic butternut squash.

Leave a Reply

