Stir Fry Comfort Food?

Do you know how hard it is to take a great picture of a stir-fry?  It never looks as good as it tastes.  So you get a picture of some of my ingredients.

With stir fry dishes I don’t usually follow a recipe.  Today I tried to at least measure the amounts of things that I used.  This time I used: 1 tbsp honey

1/4 cup soy sauce

1 tbsp Thai peanut satay

1 tbsp coconut milk  (leftover from a Thai coconut soup recipe)

I made two batches of sauce – one without the coconut milk, which I marinated the chicken in.  Another with the coconut milk and 1 tsp cornstarch that I added to the dish towards the end of its cooking time.

So, I stir fried 2 chopped up chicken breasts, removed them from the skillet, and added 1 head of broccoli crowns and 1/2 onion, then 1 bell pepper and 1 can bamboo shoots.  I should have included ginger in the recipe, but I forgot.  I did add 1 clove chopped garlic.
Once the veggies were mostly cooked I added the chicken back in and poured in the sauce.  I let everything simmer for 5-10 minutes and served it over rice.  On this first cold fall evening somehow this hot stir fry meal seemed extra tasty.

One response to “Stir Fry Comfort Food?

Leave a Reply

