Perfection on a Plate

Pound cakes around this condo are hit or miss.  This time, with the BF’s birthday approaching, I set out to do everything in my power to make the pound cake perfect.  I used the best recipe: MOM’s.  I made some high altitude adjustments based on my experiences with brownie mixes, etc.  I bought a new, heavy duty, 10-15 cup high-quality bundt pan.  Today, I got busy making the perfect birthday pound cake:

ImageStill in its beautiful pan, but already pulling away from the edges

 

Image

Holy bejezus!  I did it!

Mom’s “Sunday July Pound Cake” recipe:

1 cup of butter (or shortening), softened
1 1/2 (or 1 1/4 at higher altitudes) sugar

2 cups sifted self-rising flour (I used all-purpose and added 1/2 tsp baking powder.  For high altitudes I also add 3 extra tbsp of flour)

Juice of 1/2 lemon

6 eggs

1 tsp vanilla (always add extra ;))

Cream the sugar and the butter.  Add the eggs in one by one.  Then add the lemon juice and slowly add in all the flour.  Stir in the vanilla. 

Preheat your oven to 325.  Spray your bundt pan with Baker’s Joy or a cooking spray with flour added to it. Cook for 1 hour.  Do not open the oven.  Do not look in the oven.  Do not stand in the general vicinity of the oven.  When it’s done and out of the oven leave the house for an hour so you aren’t tempted to try to turn it out too soon.

Leave a Reply

