Shrimp and Grits

Last night I used this recipe:  http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/saucy-crawfish-50400000122462/  from the latest issue of “Cooking Light” magazine to make shrimp and grits.  Now, the original recipe calls for crawfish but it does say you can substitute shrimp.  Other than that, believe it or not, I followed the recipe exactly.  Oh, except I used tomato sauce instead of paste because I thought I had paste but I didn’t…so oh well!  Seriously though, the rest was exactly the same as the actual recipe.

It turned out great.  As a native Georgian I’ve eaten my fair share of grits…and once I had better homemade grits than these, but only once.  These combine regular grits with fresh cut corn, milk, cheese, sour cream, chipotle in adobo and chives.  Delish!

The BF, who has eaten shrimp and grits many times over the years, could not stop raving about them.  Now, nothing makes a cook feel better than that, right?

2 responses to “Shrimp and Grits

Leave a Reply

