Summer dinner

Well it’s been a crazy few days here on the Western Slope.  We’ve eaten tons of good food from the local bluegrass festival, had good wine with friends and basically been gluttons for sunshine, music and anything tasty.   Tonight I attempted to get back to some sort of food normalcy.

Grilled salmon with lemons:  I created the “crust” on top with a mixture of Paula Deen’s House Seasoning, olive oil and lemon juice

I grilled the salmon for about 8 minutes per side.  I checked it after 5 minutes on the second side, but decided to let it go a little longer.  The crust on top was awesome.  With the lemons, I left them on top of the fish while I grilled on the skin side.  Then I moved them to the grill while I flipped the fish, and I put them back on top.  That way each time I flipped the fish the lemons got a little grill flavor.

Roasted potatoes with garlic and parsley:  I cooked these for 5 minutes on 450, then cranked the broiler up and cooked for 5 more, then turned the heat back to 450 and continued for 10 minutes or so.

I used about a tablespoon of dried parsley and 2 cloves of garlic, along with more House Seasoning, while cooking.  Once the potatoes were done I drizzled with a little more olive oil and added fresh parsley.

Cherry crisp:  I used 1/2 – 1 cup of oats, 1 tbsp butter and 1 tbsp brown sugar for the topping.

If you don’t have a cherry pitter, make sure to wear an apron as pitting cherries is a messy business!  I had cherry juice on my face, hands and apron!  These are fresh, local cherries and they are so good! This will go perfectly with some vanilla ice cream for dessert.

So that’s dinner.  Who knows what tomorrow night will bring?

Leave a Reply

