Tropical Sorbet

I bought an ice cream maker towards the end of the summer season last year.  At first, of course, I made ice cream in it.  Then I discovered sorbet…like risotto, I consider sorbet recipes sort of a blank canvas for whatever fruits I happen to have around.  Most recently I made tropical sorbet:  strawberry, mango and banana.

My recipe calls for 4 cups of pureed fruit – here I’m blending about 2-3 cups strawberries and 1 mango.  I added 1/2 a banana later.

I added the fruit to a simple syrup (1 cup water / 1 cup sugar ) and then put everything in my ice cream maker.

After the sorbet spent about 20 min in the ice cream maker, I transferred it to the freezer for a few hours.  Then I enjoyed every delicious bite!

Simple Syrup:

Mix 1 cup water and 1 cup sugar in a pot.  Heat to boiling then reduce heat and stir until the sugar dissolves completely.  You’ll need to chill this for an hour, or half an hour in a an ice bath, before you use it for the sorbet.

2 responses to “Tropical Sorbet

  1. Sorbet is a lovely dessert to make in the ice cream maker. I recently discovered how simple it is to make chocolate sorbet. You’ve inspired me to make a batch.

Leave a Reply

