Veggie Quesadillas

An after-work bike ride yesterday left me with little time to cook dinner before starvation set in.   Originally I’d been tossing around the idea of a roasted green chile and cauliflower gratin, but being short on time I decided to shelve that for another night.  Last night I decided to make quesadillas.

Admittedly part of my reasoning was that I needed to use up some of the massive amounts of produce I purchased Monday.  Squash, spinach, cauliflower, cukes, peppers, avocados, tomatoes, etc.  I couldn’t stop myself from throwing more and more produce in the cart!

So here’s what I did…in pictures.

I started by sauteing yellow squash, mini sweet peppers, onion and garlic.

I added spinach and continued cooking to let it wilt.

I spread refried beans on the tortilla, added the veggies and cheese, then folded over to continue cooking.

I placed my quesadillas on a tray and kept them warm in the oven at around 225 degrees.

Here’s my finished quesadilla with a side salad and creamy mexican rice.

2 responses to “Veggie Quesadillas

Leave a Reply

