Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms have me stuffed!

Behold.  The stuffed portobello mushroom.  It’s filled with goodness of all kinds and is so hearty you have to cut it with a knife!  That’s right.

Let me back up a bit.  I’m on a veggie kick.  “Flexitarian” if you will.  Maybe it’s spring, maybe it’s me feeling sluggish on my bike, but all I want is veggies and lots of them.  I’m ok without chicken, pork and beef for several days at a time.  I still like to have eggs and fish but I know my consumption of pork has grown too much lately and so I’m cutting back.  Sunday we had pancakes and bananas at camp for breakfast, veggie pizza on our way home, and last night I made an awesome veggie fried rice (with egg included) with brown rice.  It was SO good and I wish I’d jotted down the sauce recipe.  Here’s hoping I can repeat it next time…

Tonight I wanted stuffed mushrooms.  I’d never made them before but I did browse some recipes on the web first.  Most people seemed to go with a broiling technique, which is what I did.   Here’s what occurred:

I chopped about 1/4 onion and 1 clove of garlic and started sauteing that.  Then I chopped the stems from 4 portobello mushroom caps and added those to the onions and garlic.  I scraped out the gills from the caps and sprayed a foil-covered sheet pan with olive oil spray.  I placed the mushroom caps face down and broiled for 5 minutes.  In the meantime I added fresh baby spinach to the onion mixture and sauteed until it wilted.  I put this in a bowl and added feta cheese, 1/4 cup of chopped cherry tomatoes and about 1 tbsp of leftover blue cheese.

In my pan (from the onion mix) I sprayed a little more oil and added about 1/3 cup of breadcrumbs.  I stirred these around and let them get toasty.  Once the mushroom caps were ready, I took them out of the oven, flipped them over, and began assembly:  I put a scoop of part-skim ricotta in each cap and spread it around to cover the whole inside.  I then divided the vegetable mixture among the 4 caps.  I topped each with some breadcrumbs and then some shredded mozarella.  I broiled these on low for about 5 minutes (covered part of the time with foil) then on high for 3 more minutes.

These were great!  Easy to prepare and excellent with pasta.  You could even put this whole thing in a burger bun with a sundried tomato mayo and have a portobello mushroom burger.  Oooh…that’s next on the list!

Stuffed portobello mushroom with pasta and marinara sauce (topped with leftover toasted breadcrumbs)

3 responses to “Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms have me stuffed!

Leave a Reply

