The Return of Pesto

A few weeks ago I ran across this post about keeping herbs fresh in the fridge.  Let me tell you that after you read this, you should head on over to 35aweek.com and read that post because it WORKS.  Because it works I have an abundance of parsley in my refrigerator.  What do I do with it?  Make pesto.

I will make pesto out of almost anything green, but it needs to be fresh.  Pesto doesn’t taste the same when you use parsley and a bunch of dried herbs.  Here is the start of my latest pesto.

Parsley and Green Pea Pesto

I don’t have any basil growing right now and I really don’t want to spend $3.99 for a tiny container of it at the store, so there’s no basil pesto happening right now.  I’d heard of green pea pestos before and we do love green peas, so I decided to give it a shot.  I added maybe 1 cup of chopped parsley, 1 cup of thawed green peas and 1 giant clove of garlic to the food processor and started pulsing.

Once that was pulsed and pretty well chopped I added maybe 1/4 cup of walnuts and 1/4 cup of Parmesan cheese.  I use whatever nuts or seeds I have around.  In the past I have used pistachios (awesome) and sunflower seeds (also tasty).

When everything is chopped and mixed together and looking kind of like green sand, I take the cap off of the olive oil, hit “process” on the food processor (not pulse) and start streaming in oil until it reaches a smooth consistency somewhere between scoopable and pourable.

This was fabulous!  The peas add an almost creamy texture to the pesto and it is the prettiest light green color.  I tried to take some pictures but none of them turned out like I wanted.

I added this to cheese ravioli but you could do all kinds of things with it…add a dollop to your tomato soup or summer gazpacho.  Toast crostini and top with brie or ricotta and pesto, sliced tomatoes and pesto, etc.

Be inventive!  Then try this pesto from A Farmer in the Dell.

Leave a Reply

