Black bean what?

Black. Bean. Burger. Yes. You read that correctly. Last year I posted (on the old defunct blog) about Black Bean burgers and I’m here again to rave about them!

It’s spring time here in the valley and that means after-work bike rides. After-work bike rides mean quick dinners are needed because by the time we get home we’re starving! Last night we had black bean burgers, baked potatoes and coleslaw. I know baked potatoes sound odd, but again, we were in a hurry. The real focus here is on the burger.

Here’s what I used: 1 can rinsed and drained black beans, 1 large clove of garlic, 1 red bell pepper, 1/4 of an onion, fresh parsley (why not?), 1 egg and a tiny bit of oil. I blended all that in the food processor with 1/4 cup of bread crumbs.

Pour that out into a bowl and add about another 1/4 cup of bread crumbs or enough to be able to make formed patties that hold together well. I spray my plate with a little oil before sitting the raw patties on it.

These usually hold up well enough to grill and they did again last night. Check it out!

Grilled black bean burgers

I also made a cilantro jalapeno mayo to go with these. Just throw some cilantro, mayo and 1 or 2 tiny pieces of pickled jalapeno – or more if no one in your house minds spicy stuff – in the food processor and hit the button!

Cilantro jalapeno mayo

So here’s my finished burger: black bean burger with cheese, cilantro mayo, avocado, a dollop of salsa, and lettuce. YUM.

Excuse the photo - I took it with my cell phone.

One response to “Black bean what?

Leave a Reply

