Stir Fry Monday

I think I shall make every Monday stir-fry Monday. First, I must say thanks to my sis for the stir-fry dinner suggestion. The conversation went like this:
Me: What should I make for dinner tonight? J said something simple and light.
H: Stir-fry!

It was that simple. I think one of my favorite parts of cooking, especially something like stir-fry items, is the prep. I sit all day at work. The only times I get up are to 1. get coffee 2. walk into my boss’s or someone else’s office and 3. to walk to the bathroom. SO getting home and actually having to stand up to chop a bunch of veggies feels GREAT! (This is also the reason I often spend lunch breaks hiking or sweating it out at the gym.)

Back to the stir-fry. You know by now that I like versatile dishes. I like pasta and pizza because you can throw anything on or with them. I like risotto for the same reason. Enter stir-fry. It just so happened today’s lunch break took me to the grocery store so I was able to buy a few particular items for the stir-fry, but even if that hadn’t been the case I still could have made it. Really what more do you need than peppers, onion, maybe a protein like beef, chicken or tofu, and some soy sauce? At its most basic, this could be good. Here’s a list of what I used:

Veggies: red bell pepper, onion, mushrooms, sugar snap peas, (all of which I had at home), broccoli and baby corn.
Protein: sliced “stir fry” beef (I’d bought some on sale a while back and had half of it left in the freezer)
Carb item: Tonight I used Udon noodles because I had half a pack left in the cabinet. I could have also used any of the following which were also on hand: quinoa, couscous, brown rice or white rice.
Sauce: honey, soy sauce, House of Tsang’s Bangkok Padang Peanut Sauce, some chili-garlic sauce and cornstarch

And here we go with the photo gallery:

What’s your favorite vegetable to add to stir-fries?

Leave a Reply

