Yes-I-did-use-a-roux broccoli cheddar potato soup

Soup, in my opinion, is never as easy as it seems.  Every time I follow an actual recipe for soup I am amazed at the number of ingredients used to make the broth tasty.  I can remember once, after multiple attempts at making my Mom’s vegetable soup, calling and saying, “What is the secret???”  “Beef or chicken broth,” she replied.  Little things make a difference in soups.  I am trying to perfect my creamy soups.  Often they are too thick, and other times they aren’t flavorful enough.  So tonight I tried a few new tricks.  I think this one turned out pretty tasty – though it still needs some work…and maybe another tablespoon of butter 😉

So tonight’s dinner was Broccoli cheddar potato soup, a yummy salad, and cornbread muffins which I took out of the freezer (I’d frozen them several weeks ago) and toasted. I chopped a whole onion and started sweating it with a chopped clove of garlic and 2 tbsp butter in a pot.  I chopped 2 stalks of broccoli, stalks included (I trimmed off the outer layer) and added that.  I also added 1/4 tsp of (and I’m not ashamed to admit this) Paula Deen’s House Seasoning.  It’s a mix of pepper, salt, garlic powder and onion powder.   The rest of the details are …

Leave a Reply

