Chicken Thighs and fake chicken

I think that I’m going to make this Pioneer Woman Recipe tonight:

http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2008/06/linguine-with-chicken-thighs/  Why?  Well because it sounds good, because I bought boneless, skinless chicken thighs the other day, and because pasta dishes always go well with salad.  I definitely want a big salad.

Mark Bittman’s column today in the New York Times absolutely makes me wince.  Honestly when I buy chicken I hope and wish and pray that it’s free of hormones, antibiotics, etc.  I know it’s probably not.  Yet I still can’t decide if it’s worse to eat that chicken or to eat a chemically processed something-or-other that looks like chicken but isn’t chicken.  Still, it does make me rethink stopping by the Quality Meats shop on North Avenue to get local meats.  It’s not really out of the way and it’s helpful to local chicken and cattle farmers.

And finally, there’s always this timeless piece of chicken humor:

Leave a Reply

