Yesterday’s adventures with pork

Yesterday was filled with fabulous food.  After a quick lunch-time stop by the grocery store I headed home for a fast lunch before going back to work. I am privileged to live close enough to work (and the grocery store) to do that.  Did I mention I have an hour-long lunch break?  That too is a privilege 🙂  I knew there weren’t any leftovers lurking so I went for my go-to lunch protein:  eggs.  A few weeks ago the grocery store had a special on link breakfast sausages – buy one large package, get one free!  I love a get-one free bargain, especially one that involves pork.  The great thing about link sausages is that I don’t even have to put little batches in small bags – they pop apart so easily that I can put the whole package in the freezer in a gallon zip bag and just pop some out as needed.

Yesterday I got 1 little link out and sliced it up.  I threw it in a pan with 2 sliced mushrooms and a spritz of olive oil.  When that was brown I added an egg and scrambled it all up.  In the meantime, I toasted (on the tray) 2 corn tortillas in the toaster oven with a small slice of leftover Gruyere cheese on each.  Yes, I can make 1 block of Gruyere last for 4 meals (as you’ll see below).  These awesome breakfast tacos were the result of my lunch time cooking efforts:

Breakfast tacos for lunch with Hatch salsa on top!

Yesterday I stated that I had to use up some of the ham in the freezer.  I went home last night with a semi-plan.  Here’s a recap of what happened:

  • I chopped up half a container of mushrooms (another buy one get one free item this week) and added them to a pan with 1 tbsp oil and 1 tbsp melted butter.  These cooked a while and then I added 1/2 rough chopped onion.  There was a clove of garlic in there too.  Chopped.
  • I let this hang out awhile.  In the meantime I made a spinach salad and got the pasta water heating.
  • When the pasta water boiled I added 1/2 box of ziti (I’m learning that an entire box of pasta makes too many leftovers for 2 people).
  • I roughly chopped about 2 cups of spiral sliced, glazed ham that had been in the freezer.  I added all this to the mushrooms and onions.
  • Then I added about 1/2 to 1 cup of frozen green peas.  We luuuurrrvvvee our frozen green peas.
  • When everything had warmed up in the veggie pan, (which was over medium heat), I added 1/2 cup of chicken broth.  As soon as this started to boil I broke up (pinched apart really) the last 1/3 of a block of cream cheese.  I stirred it around some and just let it melt into the mix.
  • Once the pasta was done and the cream cheese had blended in to my sauce, I drained the pasta and added it to the pot.  I should state that i was cooking the veggies in our small Dutch oven, so I had plenty of room.
  • As a final touch, I grated the last of the Gruyere, which amounted to about 1/2 cup.  I threw that into the pasta and let it melt.
  • I hardly added any salt to this at all since the ham was salty, the cheeses are salty…it was perfect.  We sprinkled on some red pepper flake and declared it fabulous.  I’ll probably never be able to recreate it.

 

2 responses to “Yesterday’s adventures with pork

Leave a Reply

