Mexican Cabbage Salsa experimentation

I love the Mexican cabbagey goodness that comes to our table at our fav Mexican Restaurant – El Tapatio. It’s so different from regular salsa and for some reason it goes really well with warm salty chips. I’ve tried once before to make it myself with not a lot of success. Today I wanted Mexican food…I wanted the cabbage stuff. BUT I’m tired and there’s what appears to be a blizzard happening outside so I’m not going to the restaurant. So what did I do? I Googled. I clicked on a couple of links:

http://www.letsdolunch.com/boards/index.php?topic=6497.0;wap2
http://marikamagazine.wordpress.com/2011/05/08/tasty-mexican-cabbage-salsa/

Of course I didn’t go exactly by the recipe. And it’s not ready yet…it’s sitting in the fridge turning into (hopefully) something awesome. Here’s what I had when I left it:

Mmmmm...cabbagey goodness

Did I mention I’m also out of chips? Lucky for me there was a whole bag of corn tortillas in the fridge. I quartered them, put them in a 450 degree oven with a little olive oil and am waiting for them to bake.

How can this experiment fail?

UPDATE: The chips were awesome, so I’ll definitely be making them myself more often. The cabbage salsa? Not even close. It wasn’t bad but it was nothing like El Tapatio’s…I’m thinking they use more pickled jalapeno and the juice from that than anything else. Way fewer tomatoes in their’s as well. So while this wasn’t bad, I’m still on the hunt…

One response to “Mexican Cabbage Salsa experimentation

  1. They’re our favorite too, and when I asked what’s in it, the thing that’s different from ask other recipes I’ve found is orange juice and pineapple juice. Not sure how much, but we lives on the E. Slope and only get to have it when we visit family, so I’m about ready to offer to buy the recipe one of these days. 🙂 The closest I can get it cabbage, tomatoes, red onion, garlic, orange juice, pineapple juice, cilantro, lime juice, pickled jalapenos, black pepper, salt. Please keep trying and post if you figure it out. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

