Awesome recipe finds

I found several great recipes in, while not unexpected places, in…places I don’t look for recipes very often. The first was this Smoky Black Bean Soup from the latest issue of “Fitness Magazine.”  Now, while the recipe calls for chicken sausage I just used what I had – turkey sausage.  Also, I used 1 can of black beans instead of 2 and I added about 1/2 cup of crushed tomatoes.  Ok ok, I got the IDEA from the magazine’s recipe, alright?  Ha.  Wouldn’t be me if I didn’t alter the recipe…

The second recipe I found was on the back of the Safeway brand white rice bag.  I was getting ready to make some boring old white rice with cream of mushroom soup when this recipe for a Spinach Rice Bake caught my eye.  Since I don’t have the recipe right in front of me, bear with me…

First:  Preheat oven to 375. Then: Saute in an oven proof dutch oven with a lid, 1/2 onion, chopped, and a few cloves of garlic in 2 tbsp olive oil.  Add 1 cup of rice and saute about 4 minutes, or until the rice starts to turn milky in color.  Add 3/4 cup of chicken broth and 10 oz of fresh chopped spinach.  (You could probably use frozen spinach if you thawed it and squeezed all the water out.)  Add a bit of salt and pepper, saute for a few more minutes, then put the lid on and slide it in the oven.  Bake for 15 minutes.  Take the rice out of the oven, stir and add 1/2 cup of heavy cream or half-and-half.  I also added about 1/2 cup of grated cheese (Parmesan or gruyere are good options).  Put the rice back in the oven for anothen 5-7 minutes until creamy.

 

This was SO good the BF took the leftovers to work the next day.  The leftovers.  Of spinach and rice! That’s when you know a recipe rocks.

Leave a Reply

