Super fast pepper steak

I was at the store for what seemed like the 5th time in as many days at lunch yesterday and decided to find something different for dinner while I was there.  I was craving red meat since we hadn’t had any in a while so I glanced around to see what was there. I found a large (as in, enough for 2 meals for us) package of stir fry steak for $5!  Bell peppers were on sale for .77 cents a piece.  You know what that means…pepper steak!  Somehow I ended up with no onion at home except for 3 scallions, which is what got used in this dish.  That hardly ever happens.  I buy onion every time I’m at the store.  Oh well.  So here’s sort of what I did:

Used 1/2 of the steak (probably 1/2 a pound?) and seasoned it with a mix of pepper, salt, garlic powder and onion powder. I sauteed it in 1 tbsp of oil over medium high heat for about 5 minutes, just until the outside was browned.  I took that out and put it on a paper plate.  Then I threw in the chopped scallions, 1 chopped bell pepper, and a package of rough chopped broccolini.  I cooked this for 5-7 minutes.  In the meantime I made a sauce.

I combined 1/4 cup + 1 tbsp of low sodium soy sauce with the same amount of water.  Then I added 1 tsp rice wine vinegar, 1 tsp Yoshida’s teriyaki sauce, and 1 tbsp maple syrup (or honey) to cut the saltiness.  Then I added 2 tsp of cornstarch (I could have used more) and whisked super fast to mix everything together.  I added this to the vegetable mix and let it cook for a minute or two, then added the meat back in and let it cook for another 3-4 minutes.

Of course this would have been best served over rice but for whatever reason I really wanted roasted potatoes so we had those instead.  The pepper steak dish took only about 20 minutes to make – the same amount as a pot of white rice!  Really good, healthy and fast!

Leave a Reply

