The simple pleasures of rice

I may have said this before, but we love rice.  Right now at home we have:  Arborio rice, Calrose rice, brown rice and white rice.  Four kinds of rice.  For 2 people.  We make brown rice or white rice with tacos, fajitas and all other sorts of Mexican delights.  We use the Calrose rice for sushi and, of course the Arborio for risotto.  Since learning to make risotto last year I probably make it at least once a month.  I love the versatility and simplicity of risotto.  A few nights ago, after having been on vacation and away from my kitchen for several days, I decided to spend some time in the kitchen with rice and chicken broth.

On hand I had artichoke hearts, frozen green peas, and raw easy-peel shrimp.  Here are the results:

I usually use 1 cup of rice to 3-4 cups of chicken broth. The broth should be simmering in a separate pot. Add it 1 ladle at a time to the rice. The rice mixture should bubble but not be at a fast boil. I keep it between medium and medium low and set my timer for 20 minutes. It should take at least this long (maybe 5 min longer) for the risotto process to work. You don’t have to stir it constantly, but do stir it frequently. As soon as one ladle full of broth is absorbed, add another. Don’t forget the cheese!

Leave a Reply

