Recipe variations

A few months ago I made Giada De Laurentis’ Fusilli with Pecorino Romano.  Last night I sort-of made the same thing, but with a few variations.  This recipe is awesome.  The cream cheese sauce really sticks to the pasta and it’s super simple to make.  My changes last night were merely additions and a change of pasta – I used rigatoni because that’s what I had.  I added the following:

  • green peas
  • artichoke hearts
  • ham (it was in the freezer from Christmas so I got out a bag and used some of that)

All this did was make the meal even heartier.  It still took only 20 minutes or so to make and it’s a crowd pleaser

 

Recently, the Pioneer Woman made this fruit pizza.  Since we had a soup day coming up at work I thought I would make one of those for dessert.  If your office doesn’t have a soup day I suggest you start one.  Get lots of people to bring crock-pots of soup.  Others who don’t cook can bring breads, crackers, etc.  Get a few people to make desserts.  It. Is. Awesome.

Here’s my fruit pizza:  It’s not as elegant as The Pioneer Woman’s but I can tell you it still tastes great!  Sweet and fruity and the sugar cookie crust is crunchy, not crumbly.  You can see we’ve already been hacking at it.  No one around here really waits til noon to start munching on soup day.

As far as variations, I’ll admit that I used a package of Sugar Cookie dough mix instead of making my own.  I also only bought blueberries and nectarines because that’s what was on sale.  I used 2 jars of marshmallow creme and 1 box of cream cheese, though I do wish I had used 1 1/2 of each.  Still, it’s pretty tasty.  And hey, this awesome sheet pan is still great…even after being run over a few months ago when I left it on top of my car…

 

2 responses to “Recipe variations

Leave a Reply

