What can I make in 30 minutes?

Last night I got home at 5:10.  I had to be at a Relay for Life kick-off meeting at 6:00.  I also had to count and count again money from our Christmas fundraiser.  Still, I decided I had time to make dinner before I left for the meeting at 5:45.  At about 5:20 I started a pot of water heating on the stove.  While waiting for it to boil I made this:

Pretty green salad with sugar snap peas, carrots, scallion and grape tomatoes

Next I scrounged around in the fridge and found about a cup of leftover crushed tomatoes, ricotta cheese and basil. I also found my favorite Celetano brand mini cheese raviolis in the freezer.

Cast of characters part 1Cast of characters part 2

That jar has chili garlic sauce in it. I thought a little plop of that in the tomato sauce would be a nice addition. I could have added more than I did. So the water started boiling, some garlic and oil started sizzling, and soon this is what the kitchen and stove looked like:

Cheese ravioli with a homemade creamy marinara and basil sauce (not the best picture)

At 5:45 I left the house – the ravioli was left cooling on a hot pad and the salad was chilling in the fridge. I got home at 7:30 and was so very glad that I had cooked ahead of time. A simple, fast and healthy meat-free dinner for a busy Thursday night.

One response to “What can I make in 30 minutes?

Leave a Reply

